How to Turn Off Read Receipts on iPhone and Android

Read receipts are a great feature that ensures the sender or receivers’ readability of messages. Imagine what if read receipts are turned off? They will not track or find whether we read the messages or not until you reply.

How do read receipts work?

Imagine you are sending a message to your best friend and if the read receipts are turned on you should be able to see a note as “Delivered” after you send the message, however, if they read the message that will be shown as “Read”. This is the basic concept behind reading receipts. If these read receipts are turned off the sender will not be able to see or track delivery or read notifications.

How to turn off read receipts on iPhone

In this guide, we are going to turn off read receipts on iPhone using two methods. At first, let’s try to turn it off for all messages, and next, we are going to try it for certain contacts. We’ll quickly go through the first one,

How to turn off read receipts for all messages on your iPhone?

Simply try the following steps to turn off read receipts on iPhone

Step 1:  On your iPhone, Go to Settings

Step 2: Tap the Messages icon

turn off read receipts on iPhone (2)

Step 3: Scroll to the bottom, and there you will find an option called “Send Read Receipts”. By default, it will be turned on.

turn off read receipts on iPhone (1)

Step 4: Slide that button to turn off read receipts.

As I already stated you can give a try to the above steps to turn off read receipts for all messages on iPhone. Now let’s try to figure out how we can turn off read receipts for certain contacts.

How to turn off read receipts for specific contacts on your iPhone?

Step 1: First, you need to open Messages on your iPhone.

Step 2: Select a conversation to which you need to turn off the read receipts.

Step 3: Click the contact name on the top of the screen and tap the info option.

Step 4: Switch off the read receipts from sending the read receipts option.

That’s it, now you can successfully try it with other contacts to whom you don’t need to send read receipts.

Next, we are going to try to turn off read receipts on Android. Without further delay let’s jump into the content.

How to turn off read receipts on Android

You can even try these steps for Android as well. It’s the same as what we did on iOS. Let’s now discuss how to turn off read receipts on Android.

Step 1: Go to Messages

Step 2: Click the three-dot option in the corner of Messages

turn off read receipts on Android (2)

Step 3: Select Settings

Step 4: Click Chat features

turn off read receipts on Android (1)

Step 5: Turn off delivery receipts and read receipts by sliding the toggle to off mode

turn off read receipts on Android (3)

That’s it, you have successfully done it in android as well. When doing Step 5: you can turn off read receipts for your text messages and there will be another option for multimedia as well. Therefore, you can try both.

Please note that in some Android models it is not possible to turn on or off read receipts because that feature is not available. Therefore, if your android mobile shows an option called “Send read receipts” in chat features or chat settings, and by default enabled please turn it off to not engage with reading receipts. Then only senders won’t receive or track the delivery and read receipts to the messages they might send. We’ll be done with android, what else? let’s now try to implement this in other applications like third-party apps. We’ll give it a try to WhatsApp.

Turn off read receipts on WhatsApp

Step 1: Go to your WhatsApp account and click Settings

Step 2: Select Account from available options

Turn off read receipts on WhatsApp- settings

Step 3: Locate to Privacy

Turn off read receipts on WhatsApp (1)

Step 4: There you will find an option called Read receipts, scroll the toggle bar to turn it off.

Turn off read receipts on WhatsApp (2)

Now you can be able to turn off read receipts on third-party applications as well. We’ll try to do it on Twitter as well. You can directly try this feature on Twitter for direct messages.

How to turn off read receipts on Twitter

Step 1: Open your Twitter account

Step 2: Tap your profile display picture

Step 3: Go to account settings

Step 4: Tap Privacy

Step 5: Turn off the read receipts for direct messages

That’s it, now you can do it for Twitter as well as WhatsApp. You can follow these steps and can be able to implement the applied settings on any application by simply referencing it.

However, third-party applications like Facebook, Messenger, Instagram don’t have this option to turn off read receipts directly, but you can turn off the active status. You can view the messages on “Airplane mode”, in this way senders won’t be able to see read receipt until you open the application again.

What are the other methods for Facebook, Messenger, or Instagram?

Step 1: Switch your mobile to Airplane mode

Step 2: To read messages open the relevant applications ( for example if you are going to read messages from Instagram launch the Instagram app on your mobile)

Step 3: Read the messages (on Airplane mode, don’t switch it on)

Step 4: After you read the messages close all apps in the background using a multi-window section

Step 5: Now turn off the Airplane mode ( do it after closing all your background apps otherwise this won’t work)

In this way, the sender will not be able to know you read the messages until you open the application and till the app won’t sync. Additionally, we can give a try to turn off the active status as well, let’s do it.

Turn off active status on Facebook?

Step 1: Open your Facebook account

Step 2: Tap the three lines on the corner to open settings

Step 3: Go to settings and privacy

Step 4: Click settings

Step 5: Locate to Audience and Visibility section

Step 6: Tap on active status

Step 7: Switch off the option “show when you are active”

Now you can use Facebook without active status. However, this will be shown as recently active or active some minutes before in some places.

Final Words

Why turning off read receipts so important? Because the sender will not receive or track any delivery notification and read receipts of the message they might send and it’s an excellent feature to use, you can simply avoid unnecessary and bulk messages. You don’t even need to react as it turned off, other parties won’t be able to read your message receipts or delivery. So, adapt and evolve to future technology changes and happy messages!

Related Reading

Leave a Comment